As a result of changes to governance arrangements to pension schemes in the public sector, the Shetland Islands Council as an administering authority for the LGPS is required to have in place a local pension board.  The role of the board is to assist the Shetland Islands Council pension fund in complying with all the legislative requirements making sure the scheme is being effectively and efficiently governed and managed.

The board members work with the Council in its role as an administering authority and with the pension fund’s officers to ensure that your pension scheme is being run properly and that you as a member get the best service.

To comply with requirements imposed by regulations which are enforced by the Pensions Regulator, the members of the local pension board are required to maintain their knowledge and understanding of the LGPS and pensions in general, so receive appropriate training.

The board must have an equal number of employer representatives and scheme member representatives.

The members of the board are as follows:

Scheme member representatives

  • David Marsh (Chair) (Unison)
  • Austin Taylor (Unison)
  • Ivor Arthur (Nautilus)
  • Andrew Thompson (Nautilus)

Employer representatives

  • Councillor Tom Morton (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor Bryan Peterson (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor Mark Robinson (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Hazel Sutherland (Vice Chair) (Admitted Bodies)

Board members can seek reappointment at the end of their term.